The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) on Monday confirmed that the umpire’s decision to adjudge Pakistan’s Muneeba Ali run out against India in the 2025 Women’s World Cup was entirely in accordance with the rules.
Muneeba was given run out in the fourth over of the Pakistan innings after Deepti Sharma threw the ball onto the stumps, right after an unsuccessful LBW appeal with the opener standing outside the crease.
The point of contention revolved around whether the ball was still in play after the appeal and if the batter could be considered run out if she wasn’t attempting to take a run.
“There are a number of pieces of Law to consider here. The first, and simplest, is that just because there was a vociferous appeal for LBW, the ball had clearly not become Dead. The appeal had been answered Not Out, the ball was not finally settled in the hands of the wicket-keeper, and Deepti’s act alone is a demonstration that not all the players considered it Dead. The ball remains in play,” the MCC wrote on its website.
Law 30.1.2 states that the batter will not be considered not out if the bat or his/her person loses contact with the ground after grounding it beyond the crease. But MCC says this clause doesn’t apply to the current situation, as Muneeba was not ‘running or diving’ towards the crease.
“She had taken guard from beyond the popping crease and at no time did her feet move back into her ground,” the statement said.
The body further confirmed the dismissal will be run out and not stumped, as the stumps were ‘not broken by the wicketkeeper without the intervention of another fielder – it was instead a fielder who threw it’.
Published on Oct 06, 2025